We’re moving into what is my favorite time of year–the fall.  It gives those of us in the deep south a much-needed break from the oppressive summer heat, and hints at all of the holiday fun just around the corner.

I was fortunate enough to get some work done in my front yard last week.  We put in some beautiful new camellias, and repainted the concrete containers on our front steps, then replanted them with great flowers and greenery.  So after church today, I made a trip to Lowe’s to get a new spray nozzle for the hose by the front steps.  My husband is nervous that I will, once again, commit horticultural homicide through water deprivation.  To calm his fears, I have pledged to water like a woman possessed.

While in Lowe’s, I noticed that the Christmas decor is out, and I couldn’t resist walking through to see if there was anything new that my home would just be begging for come December.  Most of it was the usual fare:  the artificial trees (I’m a real tree girl, love the smell), lights galore and various shiny bric-a-brac.  Then I rounded the corner and discovered the ever-growing selection of JUMBO SIZED INFLATABLE LAWN DISPLAYS. 

GOOD NEWS!  In addition to the typical inflatable snowmen, inflatable Santas and his necessary inflatable reindeer, inflatable trees and inflatable gingerbread men, you can now purchase AN INFLATABLE STABLE COMPLETE WITH INFLATABLE MARY, JOSEPH, AND BABY JESUS.  Uh-huh.  Yeah.  You sure can.

As I stood there in the aisle, watching Joseph’s beard undulating with the strength of his air-pump motor, I was forced to ask, “Should the deity, God made flesh, be made…inflatable?”  It left me a little unsettled, I must say.  And I know that you could reason that if we’re going to deck the halls (or the yard, in this case) then we should do it with things that celebrate the true meaning of the holiday.  I get that.  I just think that for me, and inflatable Jesus whirring away in my front yard doesn’t communicate exactly what I want to say about the greatest gift mankind has ever known.  Something about it just doesn’t spell out “awe and reverence.”

Oh, let’s be honest.  I don’t want ANYTHING inflatable and whirring in my front yard.  I just feel even more this way toward the Holy Family.  So am I a snob, or a believer who is very sensitive to casual portrayals of Christ?  Even I can’t answer that…

So go for the inflatable tree instead.  I won’t love it, but I won’t hate it, if it makes you happy.  And I know how all of you desire my approval of your expressions of Christmas joy…