I'm gonna blow the Kenyans off the course, people...

I'm SO gonna win...

It’s almost here, people!  The Vulcan 10K is this Saturday in Birmingham, and I’m getting excited.  I ran five miles on Saturday, and I kept a pace that, if I sustain for the entire 6.2 in the race, will get me to my goal time.  A big IF, considering how my performance fluctuates from day to day, but I’m hopeful.

Running feels good right now because the weather is so cool.  South Alabama is experiencing a very early cold snap, and I find it delightful.  For once, I don’t feel like a poser with pumpkins and scarecrows on my porch.  It’s bad when your scarecrow sweats.

Anyway, I just have to find the time to get about three short runs in this week.  I also have to finish a novel, write a review of it, write a feature article on a home built with beams hewn by hand by the Amish, bake a cream cheese pound cake for a friend whose mom died, attend the funeral of the friend’s mom, attend three meetings at my son’s school, figure out whether the Women’s Ministries Committee can handle taking over Operation Christmas Child for my church next year, find an Indiana Jones costume to fit Bubba, drive to Birmingham, meet with the photographer who took Sissy’s one-year-old pictures to review the negatives and purchase more (I’ve regretted not doing so for years, now), go on a date with my husband, and…and…I know I’m forgetting something.  It’s probably something important like breathing, or praying…

If I run this week, it will be at midnight with one of those little coal miner lights on my hat.  But I must.  I can’t blow it this close to the promised land.

If things go well Saturday, I may set my sights on the Mercedes Half Marathon in February…maybe.  Let’s just take this one step at a time.

Run on, friends.